The Book

Preview the Book

Book Foreward
by Clint Eastwood

Book Introduction
by Gretel Erhlich

Book Contributors



Contact Us

Kendall Nelson was raised in California, where she attended San Francisco State University and the Brooks Institute of Photography. Nelson’s photographs are exhibited in museums and art galleries nationwide and her images have been featured by numerous publications, including National Geographic Online, Camera Arts, Photo District News, and USA Today. Nelson’s fascination with diversity and culture has led her to photograph a wide range of subjects – from herdsmen in Mongolia to women’s health issues in Africa with the United Nations. In addition to her career as a still photographer, she worked as a segment producer and assistant director at Fox Television before moving to Sun Valley, Idaho, where she began traveling the West photographing cowboys. She published her first book Gathering Remnants – A Tribute to the Working Cowboy in 2000. Following her Gathering Remnants book, Nelson determined to tell the cowboys’ stories on film. She completed a documentary film also titled Gathering Remnants in 2006.
Felicitas Funke-Riehle was born in Wilhemshaven, Germany. Educated in the United States, Canada, and Germany, she graduated from the University of Hamburg with a Master's degree in American literature and in journalism. She has worked for the Wall Street Journal and has been featured in numerous German and American publications, including Marie Claire, Country, Hamburger Abendblatt, St. Georg, and Stern. She has written about the American West for more than eighteen years with special emphasis on cowboy lifestyle and rodeo. In 1997, Felicitas Funke-Riehle immigrated to the United States and moved to Ketchum, Idaho, with her husband and son. She is currently working on her next book, a novel.
Gretel Ehrlich was born in Santa Barbara, California, and moved to Wyoming in 1976, where she ranched for seventeen years. She is the author of eleven books, including The Solace of Open Spaces (1984) and A Match to the Heart (1994). She was the recipient of an NEA Creative Writing Fellowship in 1981, a Whiting Foundation Award in 1987, and a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1988. She now divides her time between the central coast of California, and Wyoming.